2012-2013 Season Wrap up

Posted: June 26, 2013 in Article

As I come to the end of my season, the introspective really comes hard and heavy. Here are a few learning points from the year.

Tunnel Vision
As the build up towards Nationals continued, I did quite a bit of research. The results were stark. TDK variants that went heavy counts of Kyurem with preferably a tech Absol were the best around. Furthermore, the crux of the game was using Blizzard Burn to KO EXes and occasionally Spiral Force for the mirror. Thus the last time I edited my list, I went all in, maxing out counts of Kyurem and running high counts of Switch.

Not only did I assume I would almost always get a T1 Kyurem(mainly because I could while in play test), I believed that I could freely rotate Kyurem like my opponents didn’t have Catcher.(Something that never happened even during playtesting) When it came to Nationals, I made plays that were dubious and YOLO in nature. I had trouble believing I didn’t start Kyurem, that I was missing energy attachments, that even more preposterously – my Kyurem were getting knocked out! The nerve of my opponents to run well and play better than me!

This anecdote is to show one thing. It is easy for humans to become dogmatic and lose sight of the greater picture. I became insanely focused on having my cake and eating it too: a deck that could consistently blizzard burn and spiral force. Of course if that really happened everyday, I must have stacked like a street magician. Preoccupation with the panacea is a trap that humans fall into: Perpetual motion, cold fusion, MLMs.

Introversion
The community has only increased in size over the course of these two years. Friends have been known and lost. Inadvertently, I have felt a growing sense of alienation. This led to an unwillingness to play at leagues, to share ideas and to play with others.
Yet, I know I was wrong in my feelings. The community is still tight knit as ever, even if new players form their new enclaves. I only have to look at my own gym or those with a good foundation of the veteran players. Even the word veteran is misleading, as some of the gym leaders are quite new in their own right.
On the flip side, this season I’ve had the opportunity to know a lot more international players. Partly due to my blog but largely due to my participation in online play testing on Playtcg. Thank you Jeremy, you were the one who inspired me to take that first step when I first saw you thriving in the online environment. Big shoutout to Michael Martindale for organizing the PPTCG series!

Hype
This season provided a wealth of international exchanges, especially due to the previously unmined data that were Japanese tournament results. For the first time in recent history, people could be privy to what was going to be the new metagame. The prevalence of sites like 6P and The Deck Out provided a bandwagon for people to hop onto. Arguably this has been going on for the previous season too, but we can only really begin to see how hype can sweep the playing community into a frenzy.
Going into the next season, the mastering of hype – when to believe it and when not to, will be important.

Leave a Reply

